Search the KHIT Blog

Monday, September 9, 2013

Headlines and deadlines

Well, a tsunami series of deadlines draws nigh. HIPAA Omnibus 45 CFR 164 regulatory compliance date is two weeks from today (September 23rd). The federal fiscal year ends September 30th. The controversial PPACA "ObamaCare" Health Insurance Exchanges (HIX) are to open their cyber doors October 1st. Will we have a federal "government shutdown" on October 1st, engineered by the Tea Party wing of the GOP?

Meaningful Use Stage 2 year one begins October 1st 2013 (FY 2014) for health care entities operating according to federal fiscal year rules. For Medicare EPs and EHs in the program under calendar year rules, Stage 2 begins on January 1st, 2014 for those having successfully completed and attested for at least two years in Stage 1.

And then there's the looming spectre of the ICD-10 changeover set to ensue October 1st 2014.

But, the blaring headlines blotting out the rest of the news this week...

Props to Cousin Jojo for the cartoon link

Everyone had assumed that the final congressional session of FY2013 would be one of federal shutdown brinksmanship over the budget, the deficit, the debt ceiling, and "Defunding ObamaCare," but international events have once again hogged the stage, and may well consume the rest of the month in DC and among the pundit class.

Me, I'm up to my eyebrows in my move to California.





Saw a post about this documentary over on THCB yesterday. Looks interesting.

Check out the trailer.


From the AMA:
The differences between ICD-9 and ICD-10 are significant and physicians and practice management staff need to start educating themselves now about this major change so that they will be able to meet the October 1, 2014 compliance deadline.
ICD-10-CM codes are the ones designated for use in documenting diagnoses. They are 3-7 characters in length and total 68,000, while ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes are 3-5 digits in length and number over 14,000. The ICD-10-PCS are the procedure codes and they are alphanumeric, 7 characters in length, and total approximately 87,000, while ICD-9-CM procedure codes are only 3-4 numbers in length and total approximately 4,000 codes.
Moving to ICD-10 is expected to impact all physicians. Due to the increased number of codes, the change in the number of characters per code, and increased code specificity, this transition will require significant planning, training, software/system upgrades/replacements, as well as other necessary investments...
What is “ICD-10”?
“ICD-10” is the abbreviated way to refer to the International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Clinical Modification (ICD-10-CM) and International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Procedure Coding System (ICD-10-PCS).
Explain the difference between ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS. ICD-10-CM is the diagnosis code set that will be replacing ICD-9-CM Volumes 1 and 2. ICD-10-CM will be used to report diagnoses in all clinical settings. ICD-10-PCS is the procedure code set that will be replacing ICD-9-CM Volume 3. ICD-10-PCS will be used to report hospital inpatient procedures only.
Will ICD-10-PCS replace CPT®? No. ICD-10-PCS will be used to report hospital inpatient procedures only. The Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) and Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) will continue to be used to report services and procedures in outpatient and office settings.
Do I have to upgrade to ICD-10? Yes. The conversion to ICD-10 is a HIPAA code set requirement. Providers, including physicians, are HIPAA “covered entities”, which means that you must comply with the HIPAA requirements.
Who else has to upgrade to ICD-10? Health care clearinghouses and payers are also HIPAA covered entities, so they are required to convert to ICD-10 as well...

More to come...


No comments:

Post a Comment